kinggnik

Cooking spaghetti at church

In 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, First Baptist & Around New Bern, POSTS on May 17, 2009 at 5:14 pm

150 people

Divide a 10 lb. box of spaghetti into 4 piles.

At 3:30 put on four large pots of water with salt & oil.

At 5:25 break & put in spaghetti. Stir off at 20 to 6.

At 5:30

At 5:40

At 5:50

At 3 p.m. fix coffee

3 p.m. start butter on rolls.

bake beginning at 4:30

(Editor’s note: POST UPDATE! Aunt Boyd has kindly clued me in about what’s supposed to happen at 5:30, 5:40 and 5:50 — you add the noodles. Before she contributed her sage advice, I’d thought the listed times had something to do with sauce-making. Given that most of the Wednesday-night suppers I ate at First Baptist occurred when my height was below adult waist-level, I never really contributed much to the cooking. I DO remember dessert, however — sometimes Twinkies we’d save until we got home, for Mama/Aunt Penny to heat in the oven, and sometimes Maola ice-cream sandwiches that Mr. Dixon would pull out of what must have been a walk-in cooler. At least I’m GUESSing it was a walk-in cooler. In my mind, it was a “magic closet.”)

recipe spaghetti at church

recipe spaghetti at church 2

  1. Hi Carey… you are funny. The recipe says that you put four pots of water on the stove and divide the spagetti into four ‘piles’… The times are when you put the spagetti into each of the pots so that there is fresh spagetti coming off the stove every 5/10 minutes. : ) I can’t imagine cooking for that many but I am sure it was delicious that way.

  2. That schedule for pulling out the noodles sounds right. Boyd, Julianna, and I talked about the sauce recipe (before the days of Prego) and found that it’s still good. We never cooked meatballs but crumbled the hamburger for a meat sauce. For our 5 (at home) we used a pound of hamburger, a can of tomato paste, a can of condensed tomato soup, and if you had them, a small can of mushroom bits. Fry the hamburger and when done, add the paste, soup, and enough water to make a good consistency in the sauce. Let simmer for about 15 minutes. I would always put the sauce on the noodles and simmer about 15 more minutes because I like the noodles to taste like the sauce (the way I cooked it at home). Other folks preferred to add the sauce to naked noodles. The scale-up for 150 would take a lot of hamburger but would still be good.

  3. The recipe for sauce that I had from Momma included a pound or so of crumbled and browned hamburger meat, Hunt’s tomato paste, a can of tomato soup plus a 16 oz can of Chef Boyardee’s Meat sauce. The canned sauce added some spices to the mix. I now add a can of diced tomatoes with Italian spices, and OH YES, a can of mushrooms.
    I sometime crave spagetti with Momma’s sauce.

  4. Woah, buddy! This is showing me the power of collaboration. You guys are making this all make sense. Aunt Boyd, that was kind of you to call me “funny” — BLIND AS A BAT is more like it! I will change the editor’s note to explain the timings for those who are as clueless as me. 🙂 And Daddy, wasn’t there a story about spaghetti being one of your main dishes when Grandma was late coming home from work?

  5. Thanks, Boyd, for the CBM meat sauce collaboratino. I don’t remember using that, but may have (it’s been a long time). And yes, Carey, if I, having finished after-school snack about 4:00, didn’t see anybody at home to get supper underway, was known to start working on spaghetti about 5:00. Momma said when we lived in Kansas (?) (Daddy had been called up for the Korean Conflict, so I was about 7), I cooked some tomato soup for breakfast (they had slept late that morning). She also tells the tale (I don’t remember it) about me throwing a can of something at her while she slept one morning. She says that’s when she learning to sleep with her right arm over her forehead. Evidently I was pretty cranky when not fed.

    • I remember the story… you were 2 or 3 years old and you hit Momma in the head with a jar of baby food while she was taking a nap. Yes, she said she always slept with her arm over her head after that!

  6. On the note able about me throwing a can of food at Momma, The tale lists me at 4 or 5 years old.

  7. Ok, just so you weren’t 17 or something. 🙂

  8. Wednesday night desserts were just about anything you could think of – even ice cream occasionally. We had several bring-your-homemade-ice-cream-nights. I would bring vanilla or strawberry. There was an extensive range of cakes (not rum, of course), cookies (Toll-house usually, sometimes oatmeal raisin, but never Oreo’s), lemon bars, soft things like blueberry salad, and fruit (in-season and out) and pecan pies. Sometimes it was debatable as to whether something was a congealed salad or a dessert. Sometimes someone would make fudge. I do not remember ever having doughnuts, since no one would believe they had been homemade, but there may have been the occasional plate of éclairs. Grandmomma was known to make cream puffs, which I considered to be a delicacy.

  9. I love my family.. I”m laughing hysterically at all of you and people at work are starting to stare :).

Leave a Reply

