kinggnik

Photographs

In 1960s & 1970s, 3-Emily McKinley King, 3-Robert (Bubba) King, Jr. 1921-2004, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, 3-William (Happy) King 1922-1998, 4-Boyd King Dimmock 1949-, 4-Julia Helen Garris 1937-2011, 4-Julie Kicklighter King 1956-, 4-Penelope (Penny) Flynt King 1949-, 4-Robert (Bobby) King III 1946-, 4-Thomas (Tom) Dimmock 1949-, 4-William (Billy) King 1954-, 5-Carolyn (Carey) King 1977-, FAMILY: BROTHERS (BOB), POSTS on September 23, 2009 at 6:54 am

(Editor’s note: The date was September 22, 1979, and Aunt Julie remembers that at the reception they “had the traditional southern menu for afternoon weddings — wedding cake with heart-shaped layers filled with strawberry filling and buttercream frosting, lady fingers, cheese biscuits (Gma King’s recipe), sausage balls, nut and mints. Our punch was made with frozen pineapple juice, frozen pureed bananas and Sprite with a few strawberries floating in the punch bowl. Since I was working as Youth and Music Minister at First Baptist church in Raeford, many of the church ladies, Boyd, and Penny helped me make everything wonderful. Bob and Bee planned the rehearsal dinner at the Bordeaux Inn in Fayetteville, NC because Raeford had no restaurants!”

She also recalls that her “brother Mark went into a diabetic comma 3 days before the wedding so my Momma was overwhelmed caring for him. But, everyone was praying and Mark got better quickly so everything went wonderfully on the wedding day.”

As for the ceremony itself: “Julia Helen played the organ. Boyd and Bob sang ‘The Wedding Song’ as a duet. My roommate, Charlene, sang ‘Just Because I Asked.’ The congregation sang one of our favorite hymns – ‘Joyful, Joyful, We adore Thee.’ Carey was the beautiful flower girl. Julie Anna was only a few months old and she showed up for the photos.”

And: “The best part was when Billy sang to me! He sang ‘Let Us Climb the Hill Together,’ by Paul Clark. Billy held my hands and sang looking at me. The lines I remember most vividly were, ‘I will make you queen of our home … We’ll raise our family in a castle full of love and trust the Lord in everything.’ Here are the lyrics:

‘I have waited such a long, long time for this day to come
And all I have to give is the love from God’s only Son
He gave to me, I give to you.
I pray that God will be with us night and day
Guide us all the way in our life.

There will be no strife with Jesus Christ
And His Kingdom which has come
And made it possible for you and I to be one.
I will make you queen of our home under the glory of the King.
We’ll raise our family in a castle full of love and trust the Lord in everything.
Let us sing to the King Hallelujah

In times of trial when things are hard to see will you stand by me with Love?
It can heal the pain, so let it rain on the roof of my soul,
There is no hole that love can’t fill.
So let us climb, let us climb the hill together
Let us climb the hill together.'”)

  1. And it all came true… how wonderful is our God.

  2. Hey Carey, you are really cute in this picture! šŸ˜‰

  3. That’s my Bride! Isn’t she beautiful!

  4. we always keep track of our family tree because it is exciting to know the family tree ,-,

  5. I found this page by googling the words to Paul Clark’s song “Let Us Climb the Hill Together.” One of my new (and old) fave songs. Paul is such an awesome musician! (I was hoping (by googling it) to find a youtube link to the song so I could more easily share it with my friends. It’s hard to enjoy something so much and not be able to tell anyone (or be frustrated cuz you can’t share it easily with them so they can hear it too. His other awesome wedding song is called “Woman, the Man that I Love” ( a duet between him and Kelly Willard ). That IS on youtube, and it’s well worth checking out, might become your new favorite song. Obviously, you enjoyed this wedding song of his ( Climb the Hill Together ) . . looks like you had a wonderful wedding day, God bless you, A-men.

Leave a Reply

