kinggnik

Beef Strogonof

In First Baptist & Around New Bern on March 21, 2010 at 8:50 am

1 1/2 stew beef
brown with flour, garlic salt water & simmer for 1 hr or until meat tender –

1 T Worshire
tabasco to taste
1 Can mushroom soup
1 ” mushrooms
2 or 3 tablespoons sour cream (Don’t add until last)

(Editor’s note: Grandma/Momma/Bee notes up top that she got this recipe from Janet. Do you guys reckon this was Janet Heiman? Were there any other Janets of note?

I know my Mama/Penny has a story about this recipe. And I’m hoping she will share it below!)

  1. I’ve been trying to forget, but the short version of the story goes something like this:
    Penny was living at Spanish Trace apartments and I was going over for supper. She was going to make a special meal for me, and worked all afternoon on shopping for and cooking beef strogonof, I think over egg noodles.
    I was freshly out of the Army and was more used to Army cooking, and some of my own. We sat down at a lovely table and started to eat. I wanted to compliment her, so said something about how great the chipped beef tasted. Needless to say, it didn’t go over quite as well as I had intended.

Leave a Reply

