kinggnik

Bill

In 1940s & 1950s, 3-Robert (Bubba) King, Jr. 1921-2004, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, POSTS on March 26, 2010 at 11:43 am

(Editor’s note: This bill comes from a trip Granddaddy/Daddy/Bob and Grandma/Momma/Bee made into New York City in October 1942 — during World War II, while they were stationed in Asbury Park, New Jersey. They came into the city to see a show, and they stayed at the Commodore Hotel at Grand Central Terminal — just a couple of blocks from Sammy’s old office, and less than 10 blocks from his new one.

Sammy, can you point out your old office building? My eye doctor is between #11 and #3.)

  1. Yes! I used to work in a building just to the right of #15. It is hidden in this picture, but I’m sure it was there in 1942 – because the carpet looked like it was VERY OLD. My new office is off this map, to the left of #4. How is your eye doctor?

  2. I told you. She’s good! Like the dentist, YOU SHOULD GO.

  3. Well, first of all – a very Happy Birthday to Sammy! I hope Carey plans something very nice for you. Nicer than a rose from the gas station. 🙂 I stand in agreement with you that there will be a special blessing for you today if you just recognize it when you see it! (actually that happens most days!)

  4. Secondly, I have never seen anything about this trip to NYC. Grandma never talked much to me about this phase of her life because it was a time of deprivation and sadness. Just think a nice hotel overnight in NYC for $4.95. I am happy to know that they did something happy during that terrible time of WWII.

  5. I do remember Momma saying that they were afraid when they rode the ferry (submarines), but I guess that assumes that they did ride it. I think I recall Daddy mentioning the Rockettes; maybe that was the show.
    $4.95 for a room is a really great price!

Leave a Reply

