kinggnik

Photographs

In 1940s & 1950s, 4-Boyd King Dimmock 1949-, 4-Robert (Bobby) King III 1946-, Easter, POSTS on April 4, 2010 at 6:43 am

(Editor’s note: The top photo comes to us from my dad’s — Uncle Bobby/Bobby’s — baby book. The second photo I found loose among some other papers, but I think the outfits match.

In 1950, the year Aunt Boyd/Boyd would have looked this old, Easter Sunday fell on April 9.)

  1. Thanks Carey – on April 9, 1950 I would have just turned a year old. So some unsteady walking would have been about right. I would just be Annalise’s age! This was so long ago that the Tryon Road house hadn’t even been built yet. I am guessing that the one with me standing was taken in New Bern and that Grandma and Granddaddy were living on Cleveland Street at that time. That’s a classic “Easter Bonnet” Grandma has on me.

  2. It looks like that was before any of the streets around there were paved. And from this photo, I think I may be able to figure out which house we lived in on Cleveland Avenue. I’m pretty sure the unpainted shed and car behind the mailbox are gone, but I think the houses are the same.

  3. Daddy, in your baby book it says that you had your second, third and fourth birthday parties at 605 Franklin Street. You had your fifth and sixth birthday parties at 406 Dougherty Avenue in Fort Bragg. Your seventh birthday party was at 1806 Tryon Road. So where was Cleveland Avenue in all of that?

  4. Ok, I guess I just thought that we lived on Cleveland Street because that is where Aunt Jesse later lived. If you turn left at the end of Cleveland, that is Franklin Avenue. But I can honestly say I do not remember any house before 1806 Tryon Road.

Leave a Reply

