kinggnik

Photographs

In 1980s & 1990s, 4-Julie Kicklighter King 1956-, 4-Penelope (Penny) Flynt King 1949-, 4-Thomas (Tom) Dimmock 1949-, 4-William (Billy) King 1954-, 5-Carolyn (Carey) King 1977-, 5-Claire King Parrish 1981-, 5-Jessica King Snead 1982-, 5-Julie Anna Dimmock 1979-, 5-Laurie Dimmock Nappier 1982-, POSTS on April 22, 2010 at 7:53 am

(Editor’s note: The back of these photos say “AUG 1984.” Is this in Asheboro, at the North Carolina Zoo?)

  1. I’m guessing yes. I’m not sure where else we’d have all been near either a giraffe or a water buffalo. The first permanent exhibit opened in 1979, so 1984 would have been good. It looks like a lovely picnic!

  2. Yes, I am sure this is at the NC Zoo in Asheville – so the question to Carey is – who was holding your shorts so that you wouldn’t have a close encounter with the giraffes? Do you remember the trip? Looks like we were all there.

  3. Aunt Boyd, you know that has to be my Mama pinning me down!

    I don’t remember this trip exactly, but the first thing I noticed when I looked at that top photo was Mama’s finger. Just in looking at us there, I can feel her presence behind me. (And hear the command not to wiggle.)

    Wonder who organized this trip? Do you think it was Grandma?

  4. Yeah, it’s me…(always and forever holding on).

    And I also love the pic at the concession/ticket stand.
    Obvious who that first-in-line three year old is, ready to give her order!

  5. We must have been in line for ice cream and Claire was ready! To answer Carey, I am thinking that Grandma and Granddaddy were likely to have engineered the trip, although it is strange that they are not in any of the pictures… maybe they were taking them? It is strange to think that digital cameras did not exist at this time.
    Isn’t it nice to know that a mom was there holding the rope. ­čÖé

Leave a Reply

