kinggnik

Photographs

In 1980s & 1990s, 5-Carolyn (Carey) King 1977-, 5-Claire King Parrish 1981-, POSTS on April 27, 2010 at 7:34 am

(Editor’s note: Um, so, my sister Claire and I sort of had a thing for the California Raisins for while. We were very diligent about it. Back in 1987 and 1988, Hardee’s offered a collectible set of plastic raisin figurines with its cinnamon raisin biscuits, so we made my parents stop at every single Hardee’s on a trip across the state of North Carolina so we could make sure we had every single one of them.

I have no idea where we are here. Claire, do you?

And everyone, did you know that Hardee’s was founded in Greenville, N.C., and that its burgers were at first shaped like hexagons?)

  1. I love this! I love the California Raisins! I didn’t know you two liked them as well! We have the video and pretty much memorized the whole thing. Any sibling get-together is mostly guaranteed to have at least one quotation from that movie.

  2. Woah. There was a California Raisins MOVIE? Y’all may be racing ahead of Claire and me in terms of C.R. fanaticism. We may need a cousins-wide screening of this film.

  3. I may be able to make you a DVD copy…:)

  4. I definitely remember the glasses – and the stops at every Hardee’s between New Bern and Winston-Salem. That was back when you considered yourself as having a complete set of glassware when you had either all the CR’s or all the Smurfs – or better yet – both.
    But the live characters are beyond me. Could it have been on the “North Carolina Is My Home” tour?
    The song was “I Heard It On the Grapevine”.

Leave a Reply

