kinggnik

Photographs

In 1940s & 1950s, 3-Howard Garris 1906-1990, 3-Julia Crider Garris 1909-2012, 4-Allen Cooley, 4-Boyd King Dimmock 1949-, 4-Julia Helen Garris 1937-2011, 4-William (Billy) King 1954-, FAMILY: BROTHER & SISTERS (BEE), POSTS on June 28, 2010 at 10:04 am

(Editor’s note: These photos are from Julia Helen’s wedding in 1959. Doesn’t she look like a princess! Mary says she thinks the cake was vanilla with buttercream frosting.

Aunt Boyd/Boyd, at 10 years old, served as junior bridesmaid. To read more about the dress she’s wearing, read the comments here.)

  1. Wow! Does anyone else think young Aunt Boyd looks like young Michaela in these pics?

  2. This is so fun to remember. I do not remember all about the wedding, but I do remember how amazing I thought this pink satin and tulle bridesmaid dress was. It had tiny rosebuds in the gathers of the skirt and I was wearing a hoop skirt under it. I felt like Cinderella in her ball gown. You can see in the picture of me at my GA Coronation that I am wearing this same dress two years later at First Baptist Church New Bern.

  3. Also there are links to weddings after this one. So Julia Helen was the flower girl in Grandma’s wedding, I was a bridesmaid in Julia Helen’s wedding, then Mary was the flower girl in my wedding and Michaela was the flower girl in Mary’s wedding.
    Of course, Julia Helen played the organ for my wedding and played the harpsichord in Bob and Penny’s wedding. Family has been such a special blessing.

  4. Julia Helen played the organ in Bill’s and my wedding also!

Leave a Reply

