kinggnik

Story

In "The Way It Was", 2-Minnie Anna (Sister) Dodd Garris 1874-1957, 2-William B. Garris 1879-1949, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, Bee Stories, FAMILY: MATERNAL LINE (BEE), FAMILY: PATERNAL LINE (BEE), Round O, S.C., STORIES on January 6, 2013 at 6:43 am

I have been writing on this over a period of ten years I guess but since now I am into the computer, I decided to type it out and you all can have a copy. My name is Wilhelmina Boyd Garris, named for my Daddy and Uncle. I told my parents that evidently they wanted a boy so I surprised them. They decided to formally call me Willie B, but always called me B. themselves. When I was in High School and grew tired of having everyone laugh about my name being only one letter, I added the “ee’s” myself. I was born at Round O, South Carolina March 27, 1919 but I later found out that it was questionable that it may have been 1918. and that is what they have on my birth certificate. They also had on my birth certificate that my name was Ethyl and I was born on the 26th. You can’t win them all, but I was born.

– “The Way It Was,” Introduction, 1999

  1. Grandma is smiling… this is awesome. I left a long comment on the birth certificate page. Thanks for saving this electronically.

Leave a Reply

