kinggnik

Story

In "The Way It Was", 2-Minnie Anna (Sister) Dodd Garris 1874-1957, 2-William B. Garris 1879-1949, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, Bee Stories, Colleton County, S.C., FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: MATERNAL LINE (BEE), FAMILY: PATERNAL LINE (BEE), Round O, S.C., STORIES on January 13, 2013 at 5:03 am

My parents were William Benjamin Garris and my mother Minnie Anna Dodd Garris. Both were college graduates (which was unusual in those days ) and both had taught school. Daddy continued teaching most of his life, ran a farm and was post master at Round O. My mother has ridden horseback in earlier days to teach school, but when I knew her she ran a country store in which she sold almost anything and everything. She also did the work in the post office as Daddy was off teaching school most of the day.. I was practically raised us in this store- my earliest memories are of the store. I clerked every since I was knee high to a grasshopper. My father later became an ordained minister who served as an interim pastor or did evangelistic revivals over the Association.

– “The Way It Was,” Introduction, 1999

  1. I remember my grandmother’s store from when I was a little girl. She died when I was only eight years old, but I remember getting “johnny cakes” from a glass jar in the store and then there was the coke machine that served cokes in the little glass bottles. It was a store with a wide aisle down the middle and counters with glass tops and behind them were high shelves on either side. It was not a self service store; you were waited on and things were brought out for you to see and make your decision. I still have some lace from my grandmother’s store. I think there was a bot bellied stove in the back. Behind the store which fronted on the road, there was an office where the mail room was, and then behind that was the kitchen where grandma cooked and where we ate when we visited. It was connected to the main house by a porch. I have very fond memories of being there.

Leave a Reply

