kinggnik

Story

In 2-Minnie Anna (Sister) Dodd Garris 1874-1957, 2-William B. Garris 1879-1949, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, Colleton County, S.C., FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: MATERNAL LINE (BEE), FAMILY: PATERNAL LINE (BEE), Round O, S.C., Walterboro, S.C. on April 7, 2013 at 9:45 am

T he mail came to the post office early in the morning from Walterboro, bringing mail from everywhere. There were two RFD carriers from Round O, one going north to Canadys and one south to Jacksonboro. Making Round O about a 25 to 30 mile long strip. So after Mamma and/or Daddy would sort the mail , the carriers would sort theirs and go on their routes. They would have time to get back off their routes and my parents time to cancel all the outgoing mail before the carrier came back from Cottageville going to Walterboro and took that mail with him. All this went on with hearing my lessons, my studying, etc. feeding chickens, gathering eggs, milking cows, cleaning up the store , house and sweeping the yards.

— “The Way It Was,” Chapter Twelve: “THE STORE,” 1999

  1. I think I mentioned before that the post office was a room between the store and the “new” kitchen. You could walk through it to go from one to the other. I remember the “egg crate” shelving used to sort mail, but of course by the time I was old enough to remember much of anything, the post office had closed. It seems there was also a small safe used to keep both the store’s money and the post office valuables. By my time, the post office room was mostly for storage and also a wringer washing machine – a great thing in those days. Drying was still done on a clothes line outside, but at least the machine pretty much ran by itself. It seems like Grandma mentioned a treadle sewing machine being in there also, but by the time I came along I think it was in the living room in the main house. Of course it wasn’t very interesting to me – not exactly a little boy thing. But I think it was beside the black and white TV, also in the living room. That was wonderful because with Charleston nearby, Round O got the Disney Mickey Mouse club program. The program didn’t come to New Bern. I thought Annette Funichello was great!

  2. They still kept chickens by the time I arrived. I don’t remember Grandma doing the “googley eye” thing, but I did gather eggs, and would go out with Aunt Floy to catch chickens for supper. She’d chop off their heads,and we’d take a couple back to the house to de-feather, de-quill, clean, and cook them. That was one of my early experiences with really gathering my own food. That was also the memory I recalled when Carey told us of her Ghanian hosts killing a chicken in honor of her birthday dinner!

  3. I guess I was too little to help with the chicken capture and preparation. I do remember tossing out a “cracked corn” mixture to them at feeding time. I mostly remember being told not to get too close because they would peck you, especially if you had a freckle they could get too.

    • I seem to remember the “don’t let them peck you” lecture, but I also got the “watch out for snakes” lecture. Momma told me to look in the nest before I put my hand in it to make sure I didn’t grab a chicken shake while gathering the eggs. I’m sure that’s the training she received as a little girl when she was dispatched to gather the eggs.

Leave a Reply

