kinggnik

Story

In 1-Adeline (Addie) Kizer Dodd 1855-1937, 1-Joseph Hoffman Dodd 1852-1937, 2-Jessie Hodges Dodd 1892-1992, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: MATERNAL LINE (BEE), Round O, S.C. on May 19, 2013 at 8:35 am

We used to eat at Grandmas mostly on Sundays and when all the family was there at times which was like 40 or 50 persons in all.. Mamma would cook ahead and we would take a lot of food already prepared. They had a couple of cooks in the kitchen to help. The meal was served in this order; Men and guests first; women second and children last. It was done in this order for several reasons , One was seating room, another was to make sure the men got what they wanted to eat, then the women and if they ran out of anything it would be when the children were eating. I never remember there not being plenty of every thing. I remember waiting out in the back yard one time at the back steps and Aunt Jess came out with a platter of fried chicken drum sticks and were they ever good. We ran all over the yard eating them.

I remember once we at dinner and supper there. At dinner I had had a delicious piece of strawberry pie. At supper, I didn’t see any but I asked for a slice anyway. They told me it was all gone. When Mamma got through explaining to me all the next week that I must never ask for something that I did not see. I have never done this again to this day “Eat what is set before you”, she said.

– “The Way It Was,” Chapter Ten: “Grandma and Grandpa Dodd,” 1999

  1. Another of Momma’s comments on this eating order was, “When I was a child, children ate last; when I had children, you were a bad parent if you didn’t feed the children first. I couldn’t win!”
    She did take a page out of Anut Jess’ book later. During the Lord’s Supper at church, she was known to break her bread and give a little bit to those too little to understand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

