kinggnik

Story

In 1-Joseph Hoffman Dodd 1852-1937, 2-Annie (Gus) Dodd 1876-1955, 2-Minnie Anna (Sister) Dodd Garris 1874-1957, 3-James Carlton (Mike) Hill 1906-1955, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: MATERNAL LINE (BEE) on June 2, 2013 at 7:44 am

Aunt Gus was Mamma’s sister who lived at Round O and clerked in Grandpa’s store. Her name was Augusta and we all called her aunt Gus. When I used to make daily visits over there she would get me two Johnny cakes (slightly sweet crackers probably four inches in diameter ) and then cut a slice of cheese off of one of those wheels of cheese. Talk about being good, I will never again taste anything that good. I have searched for the Johnny cakes but you just can’t find them anymore. Aunt Gus was always very kind to me and I used to say that I wish I could be buried near to her because she would get me anything I needed. She would come to our store every day to get the mail and stay to talk and I always drank in every word she said. She was the Assistant Rural Route Mail Carrier and she would carry me on her route because she was afraid to travel alone. I was on the side to place the mail in the boxes as we went by. She would pay me a couple of dollars for going with her and I felt as if I was the richest person in the whole world. Aunt Gus was always doing nice things for you.

One summer I copied Aunt Gus’ family record that she had spent years getting together and I still have it. I’ve completed one line through the American Revolution that is the Fox line from Ireland. After Aunt Gus’ death, I asked Mike about her family records and he didn’t know anything about what happened to them . I know they must have been thrown out and I was so glad that I got her records earlier..

– “The Way It Was,” Chapter 18: “Aunt Gus and Uncle Tom Hill,” 1999

  1. For some reason I don’t have Gus (Annie Victoria Dodd from George Stack’s lineage) as being “Augusta.” I’ve got her as Annie Victoria Dodd. I wonder if she is “officially” Augusta rather than Annie. I don’t know whether to add that name to my records or not. I did have the note about Assistant Rural Route Mail Carrier. But it does seem like the Dodd/Garris familes had a monopoly on the postal business in the area :).

    So we hear again about Johnny Cakes and cheese – and the fact that you can’t get them anymore. I guess our eating the treat at the Garris Store was an inherited treat from the Dodd Store when Momma was little.

    I remember Cousin Mike Hill. At the time he lived across US17A from “our” side of the highway. He had a really big dog, that from my size at the time I remember as the size of a small horse! Mike would lift me on the dog’s shoulders and walk me around as I rode the dog. I don’t remember what the breed was. It may have been a great Dane.

  2. Was Aunt Gus married to Tom Hill? Did they have a son named Mike?

Leave a Reply

