kinggnik

Story

In "The Way It Was", 3-Howard Garris 1906-1990, 3-Julia Crider Garris 1909-2012, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, 4-Boyd King Dimmock 1949-, Bee Stories, FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: BROTHER & SISTERS (BEE), First Baptist & Around New Bern, POSTS BY TOPIC, STORIES on July 10, 2015 at 6:15 am

We used to have Malaria Fever every spring and summer.  We also called it “Chills and fever”.  You would become very cold and then later you would have a high fever.  We would take quinine castor oil and tonics.  I had it when I was at Columbia College and they didn’t know what to do with me so I prescribed for myself .  Howard and Julia came and  took me back to their house until I was well again.  I had an  last and final attack here in New Bern when I was at a picnic and had to come home.  Boyd was a baby and Floy was visiting us.  I never had any after that, but they will not take my blood  in the Red Cross because of it.

— “The Way It Was,” Chapter 13: “The Swamps, Forests and Other Beloved Spots.” 1999

Leave a Reply

