kinggnik

Story

In "The Way It Was", 2-William B. Garris 1879-1949, 3-Addie Elizabeth (Addie) Kinsey 1906-1986, 3-Alma Geneva Kinsey 1911-, 3-Charity Blanche (Blanche) Kinsey 1908-1935, 3-Dorothy (Dot) Stack 1920-1984, 3-Edna Arline Kinsey 1913-, 3-Evelyn Floy Garris 1910-1997, 3-George William Stack 1925-, 3-Howard Garris 1906-1990, 3-James Carlton (Mike) Hill 1906-1955, 3-Jessie (J'Mae or Ditta) Garris 1914-2011, 3-Jessie Ray (Ray) Kinsey 1903-1942, 3-John David Stack 1927-2001, 3-Joseph Capers Hiott 1908-1939, 3-Joseph Harold (Harry) Hill 1911-1922, 3-Joseph Keeley (Joe) Dodd, 3-Miriam Ellen Stack 1917-1997, 3-Ruby Calvert 1924-, 3-Verlie Virginia Kinsey 1901-1951, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, 4-Boyd King Dimmock 1949-, Bee Stories, FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: BROTHER & SISTERS (BEE), FAMILY: PATERNAL LINE (BEE), Jr. 1926-1984, POSTS BY LOCATION, Round O, STORIES on August 30, 2015 at 8:30 am

.I always had horses to ride if they weren’t working  and of course, they were working except Saturday afternoon and Sundays.  If I were to ride I had to bridle and saddle the horse myself.  I did some bare back riding too. If there were cousins to ride with me, I always saddled the horses for  them. There was Maude who  was a very gentle horse that Floy or Jessie would ride and another horse that I don’t remember her name. Floy made a comment one day in Boyd’s presence that we never rode Dot  because she was too wild.  Dot was the one that I always rode., a young and very spirited horse.   If you are going to ride a horse like this you have to take time to love that horse which I did and Dot loved me . .She was my friend.  A horse knows who is riding on  her back and Dot was very good to me.  Of course , Dot was getting. older when I was coming along.  She definitely  had a mind of her own.  When I went horseback riding with her , she rode very nicely when  you were going away form home.  When you turned around and started home, she wanted to run faster and faster all the way home.. I would bend way over  and stick right on her back.  When she got to the stable door, she would stop very abruptly.  If she had gone through the door she would have knocked me off and she knew that.  She was a beautiful buff colored horse and she died about the time I finished college  and I was very sad. Some black hired hands must have been  mean to Dot at some time.  She would not do anything for a black person.  If one would hitch her  to a plow she would lie down in the field and kick . Daddy or Howard could get her  to do anything that they wanted done.  You have to  feed a horse what  they are supposed to eat.  If they have any extra, they will eat until they are sick.  We used to have a mule also and a mule will only eat what he needs.  I always  begged for a pony of my own which I never had one but God has enriched my life by knowing Dot.

— “The Way It Was,” Chapter 3: “My Elementary Schooling,” 1999

Leave a Reply

