kinggnik

Story

In "The Way It Was", 2-Minnie Anna (Sister) Dodd Garris 1874-1957, 3-Evelyn Floy Garris 1910-1997, 3-Howard Garris 1906-1990, 3-Jessie (J'Mae or Ditta) Garris 1914-2011, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, Bee Stories, FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: BROTHER & SISTERS (BEE), FAMILY: MATERNAL LINE (BEE), POSTS BY LOCATION, Round O, STORIES on September 27, 2015 at 7:23 am

I can remember playing many times on the roof of the house upstairs until Mamma would come and make me come down. I used to slide down the banister from up stairs all the time. Since the other children boarded away from home for high school years and I stayed home through high school, I was there for a long time by myself as an only child and I remember doing things by myself . I used to sing and dance on the back porch alone imagining that I had a great audience and I was a great star.

— “The Way It Was,” Chapter 1: “THE HOUSE,” 1999

  1. “Grandma” (Bee) and I shared the feeling of being the third girl and the wonders of playing by oneself when sisters were away at school. Rebecca, as being a third daughter, I bet you’ll have plenty to share with little Lydia when she’s ready to take it all in.

Leave a Reply

