kinggnik

Story

In "The Way It Was", 2-Minnie Anna (Sister) Dodd Garris 1874-1957, 2-William B. Garris 1879-1949, 3-Wilhelmina (Bee) Garris King 1918-2007, Bee Stories, FAMILY: BEE & BOB TOGETHER, FAMILY: MATERNAL LINE (BEE), FAMILY: PATERNAL LINE (BEE), POSTS BY LOCATION, STORIES on October 4, 2015 at 6:30 am

I usually got up of a morning , got dressed and went down and ate breakfast.  Daddy used to fix the breakfast and he would have  grits, country ham, eggs, fried sweet potatoes, and sliced tomatoes in season.  Then I would feed the chickens and go out and open the store up.  That and the Post office were the only things  on the place locked; the house and barns were never  locked.  The back door had a key but the front door and all the  windows had iron bars that went across them. Next I would sweep out the entire store and post office and the front steps and in front of the store.  Mamma would usually be milking the cows while I did this.  Then she would have the milk all strained and ready to be put away.  I would take a couple quarts up to our preacher at that  time.

— “The Way It Was,” Chapter Twelve: “THE STORE,” 1999

  1. Odd. I never remembered that Granddaddy “Billie” Garris made breakfast. I do remember that breakfast was a big meal – not just a “grab-and-go” and it was very good. Of course this was Momma’s childhood. Things may have changed by the time I came along.
    I remember there were inside shutters on the store display windows and a big wooden beam that “locked” the front doors. I don’t remember any other locks. There was also a safe in the Post Office.

  2. Useful piece ! I Appreciate the insight , Does someone know where my company can locate a fillable a form example to type on ?

Leave a Reply

